Join now - be part of our community!

CAMERA CARD TOO SMALL FOR MY LAPTOP

SOLVED
profile.country.en_GB.title
shadowlover
Visitor

CAMERA CARD TOO SMALL FOR MY LAPTOP

Hi, any help you can give will be MUCH appreciated - I am a complete novice with digital cameras and laptops.

I have a sony DSCW55 cybershot camera with a photo card measuring approx. 30mm x 20mm.  This seems too small for my laptop, the slot on which is approx. 24mm wide.  Is there a simple device I can buy, which would "carry" the narrow card into the laptop slot?  I would prefer not to have to  use an external device and cable if possible.  Have tried contacting Sony on their web page but no joy from them.  Thanks in anticipation of your help.....

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
blaireau_photo
Visitor

Hi shadowlover - welcome to the Sony Forums :slight_smile:

The memory card for the DSC-W55 is Memory Stick Pro Duo format and quite often, this particular design of card will not have a dedicated card slot on a laptop computer. However, you can purchase a USB card reader for under £10 such as this one:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00109Y2DQ/ref=asc_df_B00109Y2DQ5392793?smid=A2N57WLU4O3FP0&tag=googlecou...

These devices can be used with a huge variety of card formats from all sorts of devices, you may even be able to find a cheaper one which has fewer slots on it, there are various options available to you by googling 'USB Memory Card Reader'.

Thanks,

Simon

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
blaireau_photo
Visitor

Hi shadowlover - welcome to the Sony Forums :slight_smile:

The memory card for the DSC-W55 is Memory Stick Pro Duo format and quite often, this particular design of card will not have a dedicated card slot on a laptop computer. However, you can purchase a USB card reader for under £10 such as this one:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00109Y2DQ/ref=asc_df_B00109Y2DQ5392793?smid=A2N57WLU4O3FP0&tag=googlecou...