Join now - be part of our community!

HDR-XR160E Playback problem

profile.country.en_GB.title
Gruffa
New

HDR-XR160E Playback problem

Hi i am new to camcorders and have a problem when playing back rcordings. The picture seems to be moving as if on top of water. Is this something to do with settings ?

Tags (4)
9 REPLIES 9
blaireau_photo
Visitor

Hello Gruffa - welcome to the Sony Forums.

Could you provide a bit more information about the problem you are having. Is this only happening when you view recordings on the built-in screen or do you see it when viewing on a TV or PC?

Thanks

Simon

Gruffa
New

Hi Simon,  Yes it happens on TV and PC when playing back recordings. I purchased this camcorder about 5 weeks ago and am a complete novice but it just doesnt seem right . Have you seen this problem before. I record in HD Standered with iAuto on and Steadyshot Active.

Regards

Gruffa

Gruffa
New

There is a piece of film on youtube showing this problem at StayCoolGoBald    Moving playback

blaireau_photo
Visitor

Hello again.

Thank you for the sample on YouTube - you are correct it doesn't seem right with the 'underwater' effect.

As you have only had the camera for a short period of time, your safest bet would be to contact after sales support to go through a few checks with a member of Sony staff. If further action is needed, they will be able to advise and arrange it.

The contact details are in this link:

http://support.sony-europe.com/contacts/index.aspx?site=odw_en_GB

Thanks,

Simon

Gruffa
New

Hi Simon,  Many thanks for sticking with me, its good to know someone with camcorder knowledge agrees that it doesnt look right. I will take your advice and contact Sony. I didnt contact them first off until i found out that this should not occur. Thanks again

Best regards  Roger

P.S.  Will let you know how i get on.

blaireau_photo
Visitor

Hi Gruffa

Thanks for the update - hope you get this resolved soon.

Simon

Gruffa
New